View School Directory  

Division Profile/Jurisdiction

Division Profile

Geographically and demographically, St. Paul Education covers a large rural/urban area in Northeast Alberta. We serve the communities of St. Paul, Elk Point, Two Hills, Mallaig, Ashmont, Myrnam and Heinsburg. We also serve students from Saddle Lake Cree Nation, Whitefish Lake First Nation #128, Frog Lake First Nation and Kehewin Cree Nation.

In 1995, parent and community stakeholders initiated the amalgamation of five school boards into what is now St. Paul Education. In doing so, St. Paul Education became the only school division in Alberta to operate both separate and public schools under one board. The Division’s religious, linguistic and cultural diversity is a source of strength and pride.

We serve 3,833 students (K-12), including Catholic, First Nation, Mennonite, Hutterite and Home Schooling learners. Our 19 definable school sites are staffed by approximately 240 FTE teaching staff and 345 support staff. 

St. Paul Education Regional Division Map with Electoral Subdivisions